Here are a few items related to Nevada laws which drivers ought to be aware of. Share this list with your friends who live in and visit Nevada.
What are the Fines for Violating Nevada Cell Phone and Texting Laws?
As of January 1, 2012 it is illegal in Nevada to use a hand-held cell phone or to text or use the internet while driving. The fines are $50 for the first offense ,$100 for the second offense and $250 for the third and subsequent offense. Fines are subject to doubling if the offense occurs in a work zone. In addition, the courts may assesses additional administrative fees. The first offense is not treated as moving violation for DMV and insurance purposes. A second or subsequent offense carries 4 demerit points.
Are You Driving a Vehicle That Isn’t Registered in Nevada? You Could Be in Danger of Nevada’s Fair Share Program.
Many people wonder what the law is when it comes to registering a vehicle in Nevada. They ask “when do I have to register my car in Nevada,” or “How long can I wait before I register my car.”
Under Nevada law, new residents are required to register their vehicle with the DMV within 30 days of moving to the state. The Las Vegas , Henderson and Boulder City Constables are allowed to cite people who violate this law. Penalties include a fine of up to $1000 per vehicle which is usually reduced to $200 if the violator registers the vehicle prior to the hearing date. The court can order a bench warrant if the person fails to pay the fines. The Las Vegas Constable encourages people to report violations by calling 702-455-FAIR. Even if you are a non-resident of Nevada you must register your vehicle if:
- your vehicle is operated in Nevada for more than 30 days in a calendar year
- you engage in a trade, profession or occupation or accept gainful employment in Nevada
- you enroll your children in a public school in Nevada
- you furnish a vehicle to a Nevada resident for continuous use in Nevada
However, you do not have to register your vehicle if you are:
- on active duty in the military
- an out of state student
- a migrant or seasonal farm worker
- a border state employee
Due to increased enforcement of Nevada’s registration requirements, we highly encourage you to ensure your vehicle is properly registered in Nevada.
What to Do During a Traffic Stop
If you are indicated to pull over by a police officer, ensure that you pull to the right of traffic. Although it may seem natural to pull to the left if you are in the fast lane on the highway, it is a violation and you can be cited. If you cannot safely pull over on a roadway, slow down to indicate that you see the officer and pull into the first safe location on the right hand side, such as a parking lot. Once you have stopped your vehicle, keep your hands on the steering wheel while the officer approaches. Alternatively, you can place your empty hands outside your window to show that you are not a threat. You do not want to cause the officer any concern that you are reaching for a weapon. Once the officer approaches, inform him or her before you move to retrieve any paperwork. For example, state that you are going to reach into your glove box before obtaining your registration. Be sure to tell the officer up front if you have any firearms in the vehicle. Your attitude should be courteous and calm. This should hopefully avoid any escalation of the situation. However, if an officer asks you to perform a Field Sobriety Test , please note that you are not obligated to do so and can politely refuse. However, you will then be asked to undergo a breath or blood test which you cannot refuse. In addition, if you feel you are a victim of racial profiling, you can report your concerns to the law enforcement agency where the officer works after the incident. You will want to try to have as much of the following information available: date, time and location of the incident, the name of the officer involved, and a badge number as well any witness contact information and a copy of the citation if one was issued.
If you’re concerned about documenting your driving, be aware that dash cameras are legal in Nevada.
We’re always happy to answer questions for our clients. If you have concerns about your rights, feel free to call us.